Three 2012 Ruth Taylor ScholarsThe Ruth Taylor Award Fund Committee announced the scholarship winners for the 2012-13 academic year. The Ruth Taylor Scholarships are given through a partnership between United Way of Westchester and Putnam, Westchester County Department of Social Services and Urban League.

Four of the recipients are from White Plains:

  • Crystal Colon who attends Hunter College and is pursuing a master's degree in social work
  • Gladys Johnson who is pursuing a master's degree in public health at New York Medical College
  • Victoria Sampugnaro who attends Hunter College School of Social Work and is studying for a masters of social work
  • Samantha Wilkinson who is pursuing a master's degree in social work at Fordham University

Two other recipients hale from Cortlandt Manor and Mount Vernon. They are:

  • Kayla Martin, of Cortlandt Manor, attends Fordham University, studying for a masters of social work
  • William Tananbaum of Mount Vernon attends both Sarah Lawrence College for a master's degree in child development and New York University for a masters of social work

Recipients were recognized at United Way of Westchester and Putnam's annual meeting on Wednesday, Oct. 3 at the Westchester Country Club.

The Ruth Taylor Award Fund, established in tribute to Ruth Taylor upon her retirement as Commissioner of Public Welfare of Westchester County and in recognition of her nearly four decades of outstanding service to the county in the field of social welfare and health, gives grants for scholarship awards, for tuition or maintenance, or both.

Persons interested in applying for the 2013-14 school year should anticipate an announcement being released on the Web sites of the United Way and Westchester County DSS at in February 2013. Eligible individuals must be residents of Westchester County pursuing graduate level education on a full-time basis at accredited U.S. colleges or schools in social welfare or public health. Criteria used in evaluating applications are public service, financial need and scholastic capacity.

Congratulations and continued success to this year's Ruth Taylor Award winners.

Photo: (from left) Gladys Johnson, Samantha Wilkinson and William Tananbaum.